My search skills are inadequate it seems...simple question I'll bet.
In the section on COVER, it gives an example (page 181) where Tud dives for cover with a 2x9 and a 2x1...the 2x1 is too slow to avoid getting hit, and as a result it is reduced to a failure by that hit, leaving him with a 2x9. The archers attacking rolled 3x8, 2x8, and 2x3, with the first hitting 3x8 as noted.
Then, before the other attacks can resolve (because his 2x9 is quicker than the other pairs), he makes it to cover and covers areas 10 and 8, and the book says this is a mistake because he should have covered other areas...the whole thing confuses me...and here's why:
Does the player never see the dice of the NPCs? Is this always behind a screen....if so it might make sense, but if not why wouldn't he have chosen to cover locations 3 and 8, insuring that he's not hit again at all, and at the start of the next round as noted he can shift to other locations...I guess what I don't get is IF you don't roll in secret (and I typically don't) then two things seem to be true:
1) By putting location 8 behind the rock, he actually MOVES the arrow's path into the rock
2) Since the next round he can choose 3 areas and MUST choose three, he's in some ways worse off, because he can't base his choices on a roll he sees. He HAS to choose 3 spots at the start of the round, using his whole round.
So is my whole issue because I'm not understanding that NPC rolls are secret? Or am I misunderstanding the rule/example? Is this why he shouldn't have picked 10, because he should have known that none of the SECRET/HIDDEN rolls would be 10s because they would have hit already....as I type this I think it HAS to be based on unknown rolls.